Indiana Frontier Experience 2015

One of the best parts of completing a new project is getting to show it off! It’s so fun to put on the whole outfit, and really see it all working together. I’m generally too lazy at home to put on absolutely everything and take a look every time I finish something, which makes going out to reenact with new pieces particularly special.

We had a wonderful time at the Indiana Frontier Experience at Historic Tunnel Mill in Charlestown, IN this weekend. Brandon was playing Jonathan Jennings, and had a blast jumping into the boxing ring to give stump speeches, cornering constituents and collecting signatures on the 1815 petition to call a constitutional convention that eventually allowed Indiana to become the 19th state in the union. We also both showed off our duds in the Fashions of Early Indiana show, which included me stripping to my skivvies in public (the scandal!), though I don’t know if that was caught on film. Check on Tunnel Mill’s website and Facebook to find some action shots (sadly part of reenacting is not running around with cameras trying to capture all the fun that’s happening), but here are some shots we managed to get at the end of the day today:

IFE Chatting IFE Sewing 2 IFE Sewing IFE Working

If you’re wondering what I’m working on, I was embroidering a hanky with a design from the March 1816 issue of Ackermann’s Repository.

I traced over the printed pattern with a felt-tipped pen, then used the very period method of pinning it to the fabric and back-lighting it with my phone screen to make it easier to trace.
I traced over the printed pattern with a felt-tipped pen, then used the very period method of pinning it to the fabric and back-lighting it with my phone screen to make it easier to trace.
IFE Embroidery pic
Here’s the work in progress. The fabric is from Renaissance Fabrics.

It was a great time despite the nasty weather on Saturday. We played whist in the tavern before racing to our car seconds before the downpour started. I should have snapped a picture of my gown and petticoat (six inches deep in mud, I’m absolutely certain). Okay, maybe only three, but still. It took a good soaking to get (most of) it out. I’ll be attacking it with some bleach soon.

We had a great time, met some great people and are now tired to the bone! Can’t wait to do it again next year!

Hannah

Leave a Reply

